Pitchfork Upcoming Albums 2023
Graphic by Marina Kozak

New Music Releases and Upcoming Albums in 2023

A regularly updated guide to the new albums, EPs, mixtapes, and projects getting released in the coming weeks and months

New albums are getting announced and released constantly. It’s tough to stay on top of it all. So that’s where we come in. Pitchfork is tracking notable new music releases with our guide to upcoming albums. In the coming months, there will be big new releases from Squid, King Krule, PJ Harvey, Blur, Christine and the Queens, Dolly Parton, Lucinda Williams, Killer Mike, Nation of Language, Julie Byrne, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, and plenty more artists. This guide features streaming and digital release dates and will be updated regularly.

As always, see some of our favorite albums and songs in the Best New Music section. Plus, catch up every Saturday with 10 of our best reviewed albums of the week. Sign up for the 10 to Hear newsletter here.

June 9

Aja Monet: When the Poems Do What They Do [Drink Sum Wtr]

Amaarae: Fountain Baby [Interscope]

Christine and the Queens: Paranoïa, Angels, True Love [Because Music]

Christopher Bear & Daniel Rossen: Past Lives (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) [A24 Music]

Decisive Pink: Ticket to Fame [Fire]

Dudu Tassa & Jonny Greenwood: Jarak Qaribak [World Circuit]

Emile Mosseri: Heaven Hunters [Greedy Heart]

Feeble Little Horse: Girl With Fish [Saddle Creek]

Godflesh: Purge [Avalanche]

Janelle Monáe: The Age of Pleasure [Wondaland Arts Society/Atlantic]

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit: Weathervanes [Southeastern/Thirty Tigers]

Jayda G: Guy [Ninja Tune]

Jenny Lewis: Joy’all [Blue Note/Capitol]

Jess Williamson: Time Ain’t Accidental [Mexican Summer]

King Krule: Space Heavy [Matador]

Olof Dreijer & Mt. Sims: Souvenir [Rabid]

Rob Grant: Lost at Sea [Decca]

Squid: O Monolith [Warp]

Wobbly: Additional Kids [Hausu Mountain]

Youth Lagoon: Heaven Is a Junkyard [Fat Possum]

New music releases for Friday, June 9, 2023, include: King Krule: Space Heavy [Matador]

June 13

Spoon: Memory Dust EP [Matador]

June 16

Bonny Doon: Let There Be Music [Anti-]

Bright Eyes: Cassadaga: A Companion EP [Dead Oceans]

Bright Eyes: Noise Floor: A Companion [Dead Oceans]

Bright Eyes: The People’s Key: A Companion EP [Dead Oceans]

Caterina Barbieri: Myuthafoo [Light-Years]

Drive-By Truckers: The Complete Dirty South [New West]

Hand Habits: Sugar the Bruise EP [Fat Possum]

Home Is Where: The Whaler [Wax Bodega]

Killer Mike: Michael [Loma Vista]

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard: PetroDragonic Apocalypse; or, Dawn of Eternal Night: An Annihilation of Planet Earth and the Beginning of Merciless Damnation [KGLW]

Meshell Ndegeocello: The Omnichord Real Book [Blue Note]

Pat Metheny: Dream Box [Modern]

Queens of the Stone Age: In Times New Roman... [Matador]

RXK Nephew: The Onederful Nephew [Closed Sessions]

June 23

Albert Hammond Jr: Melodies on Hiatus [Red Bull]

Amanda Shires & Bobbie Nelson: Loving You [Silver Knife/ATO]

Ani DiFranco: Little Plastic Castle (25th Anniversary Edition) [Righteous Babe]

Arthur Russell: Picture of Bunny Rabbit [Audika]

Big Freedia: Central City [Queen Diva Music]

Coi Leray: Coi [Uptown/Republic]

Kim Petras: Feed the Beast [Republic/Amigo]

Lunice: Open [LuckyMe]

Militarie Gun: Life Under the Gun [Loma Vista]

Wye Oak: Every Day Like the Last [Merge]

June 30

Angelo De Augustine: Toil and Trouble [Asthmatic Kitty]

Brigid Mae Power: Dream From the Deep Well [Fire]

Charlie Watts: Anthology [BMG]

Defiant Presents, Sha EK & Bandmanrill: Defiant Presents: Jiggy in Jersey (ft. MCVertt) [Defiant/Warner]

Grian Chatten: Chaos for the Fly [Partisan]

Hayden Pedigo: The Happiest Times I Ever Ignored [Mexican Summer]

The Japanese House: In the End It Always Does [Dirty Hit]

Joanna Sternberg: I’ve Got Me [Fat Possum]

Lucinda Williams: Stories From a Rock n Roll Heart [Highway 20/Thirty Tigers]

Sweeping Promises: Good Living Is Coming for You [Feel It]

The Weeknd: The Idol, Vol. 1 (Music From the HBO Original Series) [XO/Republic]

July 6

Mercury: Heaven EP [Honeymoon]

July 7

ANOHNI and the Johnsons: My Back Was a Bridge for You to Cross [Secretly Canadian]

Jim O’Rourke: Hands That Bind (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) [Drag City]

Julie Byrne: The Greater Wings [Ghostly International]

Lifeguard: Dressed in Trenches EP [Matador]

Local Natives: Time Will Wait for No One [Loma Vista]

Nick Drake: The Endless Coloured Ways: The Songs of Nick Drake [Chrysalis]

PJ Harvey: I Inside the Old Year Dying [Partisan]

Taylor Swift: Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) [Republic]

12 Rods: If We Stayed Alive [Husky Pants/American Dreams]

New music releases for Friday, July 7, 2023, include: PJ Harvey: I Inside the Old Year Dying [Partisan]

July 14

Alaska Reid: Disenchanter [Luminelle]

Blake Mills: Jelly Road [New Deal/Verve]

Gordon Lightfoot: At Royal Albert Hall [Linus Entertainment]

John Coltrane: Evenings at the Village Gate: John Coltrane With Eric Dolphy [Impulse!/UMe]

Natural Wonder Beauty Concept: Natural Wonder Beauty Concept [Mexican Summer]

Night Beats: Rajan [Suicide Squeeze/Fuzz Club]

Palehound: Eye on the Bat [Polyvinyl]

Rusty Santos: New Wave in California [self-released]

Shapednoise: Absurd Matter [Weight Looming]

Snõõper: Super Snõõper [Third Man]

July 21

Blur: The Ballad of Darren [Parlophone]

V/A: Barbie the Album [Atlantic]

July 28

Bethany Cosentino: Natural Disaster [Concord]

Beverly Glenn-Copeland: The Ones Ahead [Transgressive]

Bush Tetras: They Live in My Head [Wharf Cat]

The Clientele: I Am Not There Anymore [Merge]

Damon Locks & Rob Mazurek: New Future City Radio [International Anthem]

Jessy Lanza: Love Hallucination [Hyperdub]

Joni Mitchell: Joni Mitchell at Newport [Rhino]

Post Malone: Austin [Mercury/Republic]

New music releases for Friday, July 28, 2023, include: Bethany Cosentino: Natural Disaster [Concord]

August 11

Bonnie “Prince” Billy: Keeping Secrets Will Destroy You [Drag City]

Public Image Ltd.: End of World [PiL Official]

Rob Moose: Inflorescence EP [Sony Masterworks]

August 18

DeYarmond Edison: Epoch [Jagjaguwar]

Osees: Intercepted Message [In the Red]

Rhiannon Giddens: You’re the One [Nonesuch]

August 25

Be Your Own Pet: Mommy [Third Man]

Buck Meek: Haunted Mountain [4AD]

Hüsker Dü: Tonite Longhorn [Reflex]

September 1

Pretenders: Relentless [Rhino]

Speedy Ortiz: Rabbit Rabbit [Wax Nine]

September 8

Anjimile: The King [4AD]

Róisín Murphy: Hit Parade [Ninja Tune]

New music releases for Friday, September 8, 2023, include: Róisín Murphy: Hit Parade [Ninja Tune]

September 15

Nation of Language: Strange Disciple [PIAS]

September 22

Kylie Minogue: Tension [BMG]

Loraine James: Gentle Confrontation [Hyperdub]

LSDXOXO: Delusions of Grandeur (D.O.G.) EP [F.A.G.]

Teenage Fanclub: Nothing Lasts Forever [Merge]

September 29

Jorja Smith: Falling or Flying [Famm]

November 17

Dolly Parton: Rockstar [Butterfly]

New music releases for Friday, November 17, 2023, include: Dolly Parton: Rockstar [Butterfly]